Club Awards 2016 – 2017

The club are pleased to announce the following award winners of the 2016-2017 season:

Most Improved Player: Stephane Margot
Man Of The Match Award: David Lloyd-Williams
DOTD Award: Sam Watkins
Kicking Cup: Matt Margot
Keith Walker Memorial Trophy: Young Farts
Players’ Player Of The Season: Matt Margot
David Sanders Lifetime Service Award: Jerry Godfrey
Captain’s Cup: Rhys Stewart

Margot Nails The Kicking Cup!

On an abnormally chilly evening for late April, 20 or so hardy wannabees assembled for the Annual Shire Hall Kicking Cup. Previous winners of Steph Margot, Chris Walker and DLW (surely some mistake there!) pitched up hoping to relive former glories.

After the first round of simple 22 metre kicks, only 6 progressed through to the next round ( Steph, Matt, Donk, DLW, Rhys and Birchy complete in his suit!)  Dark horse Matt Margot had been the only one to land all his 3 kicks in some style. Mention must made that Chairman Neil did actually get one of his kicks – trouble was it was only in practice and so his record continues. Mention must also made of the Jerstice style of kick when he chases after the ball after he’s made contact!

Onto the 10 metre line and the pressure is telling on holder Steph. The direction of kick is turned towards Reading Hockey Club as the weather conditions deteriorate. He sees his brother smash it over but he can’t match it nor can 1st XV main kicker Rhys. Matt could easily become our Elliott Daly option in the future!

2017 Winner – Matt Margot


Selection for Saturday 22nd April vs Wheatley (Away)

Opposition: Wheatley
Competition: League
Venue: Away
Kick off: 15:00
Meet time at the club: 12.30
Meet time at Wheatley (OX33 1QL): 13.45
Players that arrive later than the meet time will be asked to donate £5 to the tour fund
Dress: Number 1s
Carried item: A written excuse for why you have failed to bring the majority of the season’s carried items

1. Neil Evans
2. Jack Proctor
3. Chris Harber
4. Andrew Carson
5. Ollie Homan-Green
6. Dave Holmes
7. Richard Clarke
8. David Lloyd-Williams
9. Chris Walker
10. Dave Tridgell
11. Chris Merrick
12. Rhys Thomas
13. Kieran Jenkins
14. Rhys Stewart
15. Luke Jellicoe

16. Tom Birch
17. Ben Megson
18. Darren Choules